The Multiple Sides of a Photograph (Multiple Exposure Photography and Me)

A while ago, I saw a photograph that seemed to mix two separate pictures into one, so that it looked like a person was made up of branches. At the time, I thought to myself “How in the world did they do this?”. Now that I have a bit more practice with Photoshop, I decided to do some research and give it a try!

DIA DE LOS MUERTOS 229_30_31_tonemapped

The idea in multiple exposure photography is to merge different pictures to create something new. There are many techniques to accomplish this, but the easiest one is to simply change the blending mode to something else (Overlay or Soft Light work well), and take it from there! That’s the easy part. The difficulty comes in asking yourself, “What pictures combined will give me something interesting?”. The options are limitless, as long as you have a good imagination!

juan carlos

I struggled at the beginning, because the idea of blending images is not something you really think about too much, and finding a story linking two photographs together is even harder! But as the day went on, and as I rummaged through the thousands of pictures on my hard drives, I began remembering stories with friends, piecing together pictures from a same day, or same place, or even same time, and slowly things started to come together.

Of Dreams and Fish

Believe it or not, the picture above is inspired from a dream I had over 2 years ago, involving fish and the ability to float through a huge pond, with koi as big as a whale! When I found a picture of a koi I took in Montreal, I decided I’d try to create something that might seem surreal and dreamlike. Of course, that’s the beauty of photography in general. If you can imagine it, you can photograph it!

Growth

Vietnamese Roots

Bride and the Tulips

062

Chris in Bloom

One thought on “The Multiple Sides of a Photograph (Multiple Exposure Photography and Me)

Leave a Reply

