Of Paris and Art

While travelling through Paris, my wife and I stayed at a friend’s apartment, and every day we would walk down a street to get some bread from a bakery. On the way, I would always notice what appeared to be a vandal drawing at first, but when looked at closer, was a small mural made up of mosaic squares. I was impressed because it reminded me of the old days of video games when everything was pixelated, and because the artwork was based off of the MegaMan series!

Space

As we explored Paris, we started noticing that these mosaics  were popping up everywhere. A quick Google search told us that the artist goes by the name of “Invader”, who continuously places his urban art all over Paris, along with other cities around the world (Tokyo, LA, Bangkok, Amsterdam, Berlin etc). I enjoyed the idea of trying to find these mosaics while touring the city, so whenever I found one, I took a picture of it, like a trophy!

2

PARIS 2 002

PARIS 2 012

PARIS 2 022

PARIS 2 029

PARIS 2 030

PARIS 2 033

PARIS 2 036

PARIS 2 075

PARIS 2 080

Walking around Paris and seeing all the fountains, museums and old architecture, it’s easy to forget that art continuously evolves, even in places like Paris where it is well established. There are a slew of new people who believe that these mosaics are art ad worthy of being presented in galleries, while others believe it’s creative vandalism by people with nothing better to do than create eyesores for the city. I personally enjoyed the game of trying to find as many as I could ( I found over 30 of them, though there are websites that claim of thousands of mosaics spread all over the place!), and I can’t wait to go back to Paris for Round 2!

One thought on “Of Paris and Art

  1. Pingback: 5 things to do in Paris AKA a Photographer’s Guide on How to Get Kicked Out of the Louvre! | The Chris Quiroz Photography Blog

Leave a Reply

