52 Week Photography Challenge! Week 01 – Self Portrait

The chris quiroz show youtubeIt’s 2016! Time to make some cheesy New-Year’s resolution which we will never keep. Except this time I’d actually like to keep just one.

A 52-week photography challenge. Sounds simple enough right? Take one picture a week based on one of the 52 challenges set aside for you.

Except it’s January 17 and I’m already 2 weeks late to the party…whoops.

Week 01 – Self Portrait.

Guys, let’s get real for a second. I’m ridiculously good looking. At least that’s what I’ve always told myself (fake it till you make it right?)!

52 week photography challenge week 01

JK. I don’t even know what I was thinking taking a picture like this. But I do like playing with ideas and using myself as a subject!

A self portrait is the perfect first challenge of the year. It’s easy to tell someone how to pose, where to look and how to smile, but we tend to forget that it can be a very stressful experience for your subject…who many times are your clients.

52 week photography challenge week 01

Some have issues with the way they look, some just don’t like to pose in front of cameras, and some think they only look good when turning to the left. Everyone has a thing, and that’s why turning that camera to yourself and snapping some pics is a great way to remember that it can be intimidating to be in front of the camera.

I made a short video of my first challenge. It’s very deep and not at all what I thought it would be like. I want to make a video every week, and I definitely will try to lighten the mood in the next ones! It’s an experiment to bring out the best of us!

Here’s my self portrait. If you took one yourself, link it up! I’d love to have other people doing this with me!

52 week photography challenge week 01

See you next week !

Chris

 

 

One thought on “52 Week Photography Challenge! Week 01 – Self Portrait

Leave a Reply

