Adding Color to your World

01

 

A while ago, I saw a photograph online where someone painted their face. I enjoyed the symbolism of having to paint yourself before being able to color, change or help other people. I wondered what would inspire someone to see things differently, and what circumstances would cause someone to open their eyes and change a part of who they are.

It was based on these thoughts that I decided to do this session. The idea behind it was that in a black and white world, someone would find a way to color it. It’s actually a pretty simple idea, so I didn’t think it would be very hard to do! The weather, however did not help, as we shot against a graffiti wall outside and it was freezing! It’s also located at a dog park and the dogs kept trying to steal our scarves and earmuffs!

My model is Cristiana, whom I’ve known for quite some time!  She was very positive throughout the entire shoot, even with freezing hands. We shot with a 50mm and a wide angle 10-22mm. The day was pretty grey so while there was no sun to brighten up the scene, at least we wouldn’t have to worry about shadows.

 

1

 

2

 

 

 

3

 

4

 

5

 

6

 

7

 

8

 

9

 

10

 

11

 

12

 

13

 

14

 

15

 

16

 

17

 

18

 

19

 

I think it’s a pretty simple but fun story on how sometimes you need a bit of help to change yourself, and only after can you change the world around you. It was definitely fun to shoot, and Cristiana was great as a model!

On the editing side of things, I used photoshop to bring in the colors or to make things black and white where I needed them. I’m very happy that I learned how to use layers well because they really were extremely helpful! Editing took longer than usual because it was more than just doing touch ups on the picture, but I’m happy with the results!

On a quick side note, I finally opened up a facebook site if anyone would like to check it out! I’m not sure what the next project will be, but if anyone is in Ottawa, Ontario and has an idea and would like to work with me, let me know!

2 thoughts on “Adding Color to your World

Leave a Reply

