Me, Myself and I

It’s been 11 days since I finished my 7 month long trip around the world and arrived in Ottawa. The first couple of days, I adjusted to the time difference, the next couple of days, I adjusted to the amount of food being served to me, and for the last couple of days, I have been trying to adjust with the boredom that comes from not being out and exploring all day long.

Pictured: Me not bored

 

I wanted to be creative and have some fun, be distracted and excited for something again! Sure, I’ve started to look for work in BC, where My wife and I are planning to move (wink wink to anyone hiring!), and I’ve had fun hanging out with friends and family, but I needed a small project to keep me busy! 

A while ago, I found a photograph of someone who had taken many different pictures of himself in different positions and combined them into one amazing portrait. So I thought to myself, “How hard can that really be?”

A bit. A bit is the answer. But also fun!  With the help of my brother in law, we rearranged my parents bedroom and got to work on figuring out the best positions to place me in.

 

After all the pictures were taken, it was just a matter of overlaying them one by one in photoshop and adding the next “Chris” into the picture!

Things to look out for if you are going to do this:

Lighting. Be careful because you’ll be using the same scene with the same light, and if it changes (ie, the sun goes behind a cloud) that’s extra work for you to balance it all out! I had lots of problems with the lighting and it makes some of the figures look fake or clumsily Photoshopped in.

Tripod. Make sure you use one, and try to not touch it! The pictures are supposed to be exactly the same with only you moving around! If the camera moves even just a bit, it could mean that the pictures are useless! 

Scene. Be creative and find a good place for you to do things! We thought the room would be a nice place, but in the end, I didn’t really like it that much. 

For the first time doing one of these multiple pictures of myself, I’m happy about the results. It takes practice to get everything right! The best advice I can give is to just have fun with it! This picture was supposed to be my facebook cover for my photography page, but it didn’t turn out right. That being said, it was fun to do, and I learned a bit in the process! I guess that’s the point of it! 

If you have any tips on how to make life easier while doing this project, comment away! It’s always great to read someone else’s perspective on this!

One thought on “Me, Myself and I

Leave a Reply

