We Live in a Beautiful World

I’m home. After 7 months, 15 countries, 49,000 pictures and countless adventures, I’m finally home. It took almost 2 full days to travel from Tokyo to Ottawa (when you buy really cheap plane tickets, the price is time!), and I’m writing this post at 3am because I probably have some jet lag, but I’m finally home.

I haven’t had too much time to reflect on everything I have experienced through my travels this year, but whenever I try, my thoughts inevitably end up in the same sentence. We live in a beautiful world.

It’s everywhere you look, from the crystal clear oceans in Thailand, to the 10,000 tons of metal that makes the Eiffel tower in Paris. I saw breath taking landscapes in Ireland, played with wonderfully kind elephants in Laos, explored magnificent ruins in Cambodia, ate the best pizza of my life in Italy (surprise surprise!) and got caught up in the excitement of sumo wrestling in Japan.

    

    

I met some fantastic people along the way. Some opened up their homes to us, others opened a beer bottle. Some climbed mount Vesuvius with us, while others partied in Xochimilco with us. We bathed in jaw dropping waterfalls with some, and learned how to cook with others. 

It helps when you travel with your best friend, who also happens to be my wife. Somehow, these experiences seemed more meaningful with her by my side, and I feel blessed to have been able to share these experiences together. In 7 months, the most time we spent apart was when we lost each other an hour in London. Some people wonder how you can spend so much time with someone and not go crazy, but she always helped me see the world in the best light there could be, and I love her to death for it.

This world is beautiful. Whether you are watching the sky burn as the sun disappears into the horizon at a beach in Malaysia, or are watching the Parisian streets turn to life early in the morning, it’s beautiful. I am lucky to have been able to see first hand how beautiful this world truly is. It’s very easy to forget when you read or watch the news, or are stuck in a rut at work, or having problems with life in general, and sometimes it feels like we don’t have the time to appreciate just how lucky we are to live here, but hopefully this post will remind you, if only for a couple of minutes, that we live in a beautiful world.

Chris Quiroz 

5 thoughts on “We Live in a Beautiful World

  1. WOW.
    I feel like singing a little Louis Armstrong.
    Nice to remember what a wonderfully beautiful world this is.
    Great work capturing it, Chris.
    Waterfalling – Jaw Dropping Indeed.
    Heather in the Boat – Beauty.
    Sumo Stroller – Awesome.

Leave a Reply

