The Red Button Does What?

While I was travelling in Cambodia, a friend of mine contacted me with a proposition. It turns out that he had bought a hotel in Siem Reap, and he wanted me to make a promotional video for him. I have played with the video features of my camera before, and I’ve always been impressed with the quality (especially when you pair it with a decent lens), however, I had never done a project for someone else and the idea of a friend placing a part of their advertising in my hands freaked me out…until he said that in exchange I could stay at his hotel for free. We arrived 2 days later lol

I didn’t really know much on how to make a promotional video, mainly because I tend to ignore them on TV, so naturally the first thing I did was go to the bar and get a beer, then have a nice lunch with my wife, then visit the Angkor temples!

After I got that out of my system, I got to work on the video. It’s not the best, and looking at it again, I can already see things I would change, but it’s the first project I’ve ever been paid for (even though I received no money, 4 nights at a decent hotel is not a bad payment!), and it’s a good start!

This is the video. On the technical side, I used 2 lenses. my wide angle lens (10-22mm) and my 17-55mm. F stops ranging from 2.8 to about 15. Tripod of course, and I edited it with Sony Vegas 8.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

