Now What?

A couple of weeks ago, I was traveling to a beach in Cambodia. At the half way point, the bus stopped at a restaurant so we could all get a bite to eat. I got off and had a quick meal, then returned to the bus and listened to music until we arrived.
Once at the hotel, I checked my camera bag, and found that someone had stolen my Canon T2i, along with my 17-55 F2.8 lens. Shit.
These things happen. It’s partly my fault for not carrying my bag with me like it was an internal organ of mine, but that doesn’t really help my situation. After going through a couple of the 5 stages of grief, my mind quickly focused on the all important question: Now what?
The question  was quite simple, yet very complicated.
What camera will you buy now?
The easiest solution would be to just buy the same model and get on with my life. After all, I know most of the features of that camera inside and out, and I am quite comfortable with it. However, it’s also the perfect opportunity to upgrade, even if modestly.

Should I get a full sensor camera, like the 5D mark II or III?

Should I get a 7D? Or maybe a 60D?

Should I spend the money on a good lens and upgrade the body later?

Should I just suck it up and get both at the same time?

Should I just buy a point and shoot and forget about the whole thing?

There are so many options and so many ways to mix and match the answers. Sometimes I think “invest in it all at once!” and others i believe “just get a good lens right now. There’s plenty of time for a new body”. Whatever my decision, one thing is for certain. I was robbed of my camera, but my passion seems to have grown! 

 

One thought on “Now What?

Leave a Reply

